~ Ok I lied ~

I told her I would not cry until I was in the car on the way home.

Sometimes things don’t go as planned, you know?

Saying goodbye to Lauren was so tough this afternoon. Tougher than I thought it might be. I mean, I expected to be choked up, but I was outright boo-hooey.

It’s not like she doesn’t have a car on campus and can’t come home any time she wants to. Lee Univeristy is just two hours from home. She has a terrific roommate; she will be handed over two thousand dollars per semester to go to school at Lee so she doesn’t even have to hold down a job and go to school in tandem. She has been truly blessed and she is thankful. Things couldn’t be better for Lauren.

So why am I a mess this evening? Because Lauren has grown up all of a sudden. Because of Change. Yes, I know she is ready to go, but the change of it all is overwhelming right now. Yesterday she was sewing clothes for her baby dolls and playing dress up with her little sisters. Today she is not here.

For those of you who have  young children and babies today, grab ’em and hold ’em and kiss ’em because they will mysteriously grow a few feet (in size) overnight and will be talking about graduating from high school tomorrow. The next day they will leave for college. They will become young adults of whom you are exuberantly proud next time you look at ’em. And you will have a hole in your heart when you say your goodbyes.

I think I am okay now…at least until next week when we help Nick get his stuff back to his dorm room at college. (No, they couldn’t attend the same school. That would be too simple. 🙂 )

I am making him no promises about anything…!

One Response to ~ Ok I lied ~

  1. Polly says:

    Oh! THANKS! Now *I’m* boo-hooing! 🙂

    Thanks for the reminder to look beyond the daily grind! 🙂

    Polly

Hiya! Leave a Reply

