~ Home School Enrichment Mag and Me ~

Home School Enrichment Magazine, one of the foremost publications for Christian homeschoolers (okay, THE foremost pub, IMHO) is offering you some of my best stuff for free.

If you want to know the basics of how to motivate your students to learn independently and with excellence, grab this FREE REPORT found at

http://homeschoolenrichment.com/goodies/freedom.html

You can also grab yourself a free copy of the magazine which will be delivered directly to your mailbox! You’ll be asked for your e-mail address to get the goods. Head over when you get a minute and scoop up my Secrets to Homeschooling Freedom!

Of course you can always visit my Website and learn more about Self-Teaching and Mastery Learning. www.URtheMom.com

2 Responses to ~ Home School Enrichment Mag and Me ~

  1. Jackie says:

    Joanne,
    I read your article on HSE online…and your articles in the magazine from time to time…I just can’t seem to trust my kids to self-learning…
    I have been hs’ing my 2 sons (15 & 11y.o.)for about 5 or 6 years now…(doesn’t seem that long)…I love learning…my 15 y.o. loves to spend time learning and soaking up good books…my 11 y.o. is just starting to read…the spark has finally been ‘lit’…
    Over all I have used the Unit study/spoonfeed and test approach…and seeing that is not working…and remembering my 15 y.o. even when he was little in public school, getting in trouble because he was teaching himself about God’s world…and could take anybody on a tour of Chicago’s museums and fill them in on Earth’s Natural History or space…I still marvel how & where he ‘soaked’ up all this information…
    My concern and question…I see and have read all the topics that are to be covered each year…My 15 y.o. hates math…he is in a 7th grade math book…I’m letting him set his own pace…to me he is very slow…he says he doesn’t understand it…I go over it with him again…he does it again…maybe his head is in it maybe it’s not…I have tried all kinds of motivation…but nothing is working?
    Any ideas?
    Jackie

    • urthemom says:

      Dear Jackie, thank you for your comments! Your children are the perfect age to be self-learning. Independence is a grand motivator for students when they realize that they have almost complete say over their homeschooling day, but with this freedom comes responsibility. Sounds like your children enjoy learning and have their favorite areas of study, which is great. However, math is one of those things that just *has* to be learned whether one likes it or not. (I hated math also!)

      I am going to assume that your son is in 9th grade, but he is working in a 7th grade math book. What math do you use? If he is college-bound, you have a problem on your hands, as high school is pretty rigid in math requirements for graduation. But it is not an insurmountable problem! I am also going to assume that he has no learning disabilities. If you suspect he has a learning disability, then that will require a different approach altogether. You know him better than anyone, so you would be the best one to say why he is not getting it. Is he lazy? If so, I would not have him set his own pace. You and he will need to design a catch-up plan. I can help you with that, but there is no point going into all of that if the problem is more than he just doesn’t like it or doesn’t feel like doing it.

      So if you would help me out with the answers to these couple of questions, I would be happy to work with you on helping him get out of the hole he is in. It is doable, but it will take intensive effort on his part.

      Thanks again for popping in to my little blog. I look forward to hearing from you! If you would like to e-mail me directly, you can reach me at joanne@homeschoolstudentplanner.com. Here is fine as well, as I am sure there are others who would benefit from seeing what to do in this circumstance. It is not an unusual question, I assure you!

      Warmly,
      joanne

Hiya! Leave a Reply

