~ A Homeschooled Senior’s Biography ~

Could I possibly post a worse picture?

Sadly, I was so caught up in the action of the day that I never got a REALLY good picture of Taylor at graduation.  I have a family picture of all of us, but none of Mom, Dad, and Graduate. Ugh! Bad mom!! *insert frowny face here*

What is happening in this pic is Tim has just handed Taylor his diploma, has shaken his hand, and then Taylor turned and handed me a rose. I am helplessly blinking back the tears.

At the end of the ceremony ~ you know where the graduates all toss their hats jubilantly into the air? ~ well, Taylor’s hat never came back down. It got stuck on a speaker thingy up there and most likely has yet to descend. AND the reception was immediately following the ceremony, so of course the graduates took off their gowns on the way to the reception area. (I’m sorry Taylor! I’ll do better next time!)

What I wanted to share with you is not a picture anyway. It is what Taylor had written in his Senior Biography that appeared in the graduation program itself.

Why do I want to share this with you? Why would you even care?

Well, in my last post I commented on Taylor’s academic achievements, but hopefully by reading his biography in this post you’ll see why I (also) cried tears of joy upon reading the piece he wrote which attempts to summarize his life thus far…in 225 words or less.

For Tim and I, our ultimate goal as homeschooling parents is not at all academic in nature.

Wait…I’ll hush and let you read for yourself.

Taylor Nathaniel Calderwood

November 27, 1991: that’s when it all started.

That single point in time marks the beginning of this crazy and wonderful adventure I know as my life.

God saw fit to give me to Tim and Joanne Calderwood; and what’s more, He gave them to me. I was their third child, the surprise child. Little did they know, they would eventually wind up with eight. These two amazing people have made me who I am. They taught me to walk, they taught me to read, and they taught me to love knowledge and never stop learning; but most importantly, they introduced me to my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ and showed me how to live.

My early childhood was full of tree climbing, freeze tag, secret hideouts, firefly catching, construction paper art, homemade theater productions, make-believe dragons, innumerable Lego and K’nex creations, and countless other activities, episodes, and adventures. Day to day and year to year, time has taken me on a marvelous journey, and I could not have asked for better traveling companions than the extraordinary people I am so blessed as to call family.

So, here I stand. I am now graduating high school and preparing to make my way in a large and unfamiliar world. My current plans are to attend Lee university in the fall, major in who-knows-what, and pursue a career in the same field. Whatever direction I finally decide to take, I aspire only to know without a doubt that I’m doing what the Lord has called me to do.

Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding;

in all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make your paths straight.

Proverbs 3:5-6 NIV

That my children should grow into mature men and women who seek first His kingdom…

…that, THAT is my calling as a mother.

All o’ us

Wall: Nick (20), Tim (older than me), Taylor (17), Franklin (16)

3rd row: Olivia (14), Me (No way!), Lauren (19)

2nd row: Lydia (10) and Adrienne (12)

Front: Lilienne (8)

4 Responses to ~ A Homeschooled Senior’s Biography ~

  1. hi-d says:

    Wow. Wow. Joanne… that was beautiful. I love it. He summed it up just perfectly. I like!

  2. MJR says:

    You’re amazing! Loved meeting you today and have so many pearls of wisdom to ponder over the next few days. Please tell Taylor that my mom attended Lee University back in in the 40’s and my 1st cousin, David Tilley, was President for years, until just a few years ago. Best wishes to him! He seems like an outstanding young man!

    • urthemom says:

      Mary Jane, it was FANTASTIC to meet such a warm, loving, godly mom. Your family is blessed to have you, as I am sure they know. (If there’s doubt, read this out loud to ’em. LOL) I was blessed to meet you. Thanks so much for coming and spending time chatting. That is so cool about Lee! You are, like, Lee royalty! I will tell Taylor and Lauren, who also attends there. She will be a junior. Hope we can meet up in some fashion very soon. I won’t be in Nashville this week, but should be next Tues/Thurs. Big hugs to yoU!!!

  3. YessD says:

    Awesome! Congratulation to you and your hubby for a job well done!! Thank you for being willing to be an encouragement to many of us in our home school endeavors.

Hiya! Leave a Reply

