A Higher-Education Revolution?

Today I want to tell you about something kind of exciting. It’s called Coursera.

Coursera is a for-profit company that is teaming up with more and more top-notch universities to bring you live broadcasts from classrooms across the realm of elite institutions.

Yes, folks, it’s free education. Do you earn a degree? Well, you do earn a “statement of accomplishment” signed by pedigreed professors, so there are certificates involved. You will also receive official course records as well. All of your study is based on an honor code.

For those seeking education for the sake of learning, this could be the start of something amazing.

I’ve taken classes via video before, and I have to say that it has its pros and cons. The cons are that even though these were classes I was interested in, I didn’t actually retain a lot through listening to the lectures and then taking a quiz online. I did earn several professional certifications this way, but to me the knowledge was minimal compared to the price tag.

Coursera presents a new and more exciting way to take classes than just the video scenarios of distance learning. It is live-to-you instruction. You can interact with other students and professors. And according to their website, they are very concerned with mastery. Imagine that. Yes, I am a fan.

I urge you to go check out the courses that currently are being offered. You can sign up TODAY! In many cases you can start TODAY!

I would like to take this Intro to Logic  class which is taught by a professor at Stanford. Looky! I am now a student in this class: Intro to Logic.

In fact, I believe I will have my high school junior sign up for this class as well, and perhaps my high school freshman, and we’ll do it TOGETHER.

Pop over to Coursera and peruse their catalog of courses. I bet you’ll find something there that excites you!

This is fabulous stuff, y’all! Let me know if you sign up for a course and then how you like it. I’d love to track your experience for my own research. I’ve found half a dozen courses I personally want to take! So much to learn, so little time.

Did I mention this is free?

It will be fascinating to see how this concept grows over time.

Happy Learning! 🙂

_____________________________________________________________

About the Author

Joanne Calderwood has been called America’s Homeschool Mom. She is an underwhelmed Mom of eight great kids, owner of URtheMOM.com, and an author and columnist. Her new book, The Self-Propelled Advantage: The Parent’s Guide to Raising Independent, Motivated Kids Who Learn with Excellence, enables parents to teach their kids to teach themselves with excellence.

Hiya! Leave a Reply

